Will today be raining?

a tale of rain drop

Silent is Gold ?

Leave a comment

In this era of  information, it seems like we are free to said of anything, especially in the digital media. We can write any kind of opinion we want and seems like we will be able to scotch free from it – without any consequences! or, is it?

The old proverb that saying Silent is Gold, is it still holds true?

Or the old saying from king Solomon, the man whom believed as the wisest man in the history: “In the multitude of words sin is not lacking, But he who restrains his lips is wise”.

So, should we just stay silent when we are know what is the right from the wrong? Or do we really know which one is the right from the wrong?

When we are speaking of our opinion, like what I am doing right now, what am I doing it for? For myself, or for you the reader?

Tell you the truth, actually I am doing this for myself, to sort my thinking out. I am that type of the person, where I am learning by speaking to myself. It is funny that sometimes I started to unconsciously speaking to myself when I am learning and writing on a piece of paper or whiteboard. Sometimes I don’t realize it until my friends point it out for me. But don’t think that I speak out loudly, no I am not that inconsiderate, yet it is just my lips moving and whispering to myself.

I don’t know if this is a bad habits or not, but I hope it is not since I am not disturbing other people, no? I’ve picked up this habits since quite young, from the time I was a child I do love talking to myself to pass through my problem, It makes me feels like I have a friends with whom I can share about my problem.

Back to the topic, I love to talk about my opinion. But, do I really doing a wrong things by speaking about it? I do sometimes regret of what I am saying. Yes, I am not perfect. Sometimes I do speaking out of turn or spouting a wrong facts. But, at another time, I do try not to speak any kind of opinion and just hold my self in. In both of those, I don’t know which one holds more truth for me. Should I just stay silent when I know about the right things to say? Or should I speak out my mind?

But now, I believe there are rules I can follow:

  1. It’s okay to be wrong, as long as you can accept when corrected
  2. It’s better to stay silent when you don’t know about the things being told and gathers the fact first – rather than being a fool who speaks out of their turns
  3. When you know or believe that others people will benefit from what you said, you should have courage to say it, or at least try to, even though it might not be accepted by them. As long as you have a good intention – yet most people don’t like being corrected, so pick your word carefully and be humble.
  4. If you are doing it for yourself and your ego (even if you think you are thinking that you are defending your principle), you better kept it in for yourself – this is the hardest things to do for me (I am trying to – so I should make a note about it).

So.. yeah, this is my opinions and also a note for me, to change myself for the better one. Especially the last rule: “If we are only talking for ourselves and our ego, we better just stay silent.”

Author: Rain Drop

I keep walking the paveway Look up to the gray sky A drop of rain fall on my nose Will today be raining?

Leave a Reply

